Amos Raymond Tamuonepi Manzai


Amos has senior managerial and executive leadership experience acquired at Deloitte & Touche London and Zimbabwe as senior supervisor.   He has also served at ZESA as Deputy General Manager – Finance.  Amos has also held the position of Group Finance Director at TA Holdings Ltd and Executive Director Finance & Administration at Standard Chartered Bank Zimbabwe.

He is a Director at Perrenialform Investments Pvt Ltd, Evergid Services Pvt Ltd and Lidle Trading Services (Pvt) Ltd. He holds a BA Honours Economics Degree (Dunelim UK)  and is a Chartered Accountant (Zimbabwe).

Elisha Moyo

Board Member

Elisha is a lawyer by profession and currently practices law in the Law firm Moyo and Partners Legal Practitioners which he founded in October 2011. His specialty is corporate law. In August 2012, Elisha was appointed as Chairman of Pearl Properties (2006) Limited (now First Mutual Properties), and a non-executive director of First Mutual Holdings Limited and TristarInsurance Company Limited. He also sits on several other boards, including Afrosoft Holdings Limited. He is a current PhD student in Business Administration and he holds a Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Zimbabwe, a Bachelor of Laws degree and a Bachelor of Law Honours Degree from the same institution.

Samuel Vengai Rushwaya

Board Member

Samuel is a former Managing Director of Aberfoyle Holdings (Pvt) Ltd and past Chairman of British American Tobacco Zimbabwe Limited and Standard Chartered Bank Zimbabwe Limited as well as First Mutual Reinsurance Limited. He is also a past Director of CGU Insurance, Portland Holdings Limited, SFG Insurance and First Mutual Limited. He sits on the African Distillers Limited and First Mutual Life Assurance Limited boards. Samuel is a holder of a Bachelor of Science (Sociology) Honours Degree, London and Advanced Diploma in Training Management.

Evlyn Mkondo

Board Member

Eve graduated from the University of Zimbabwe with a Bachelor of Accountancy (Honours) degree and became a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Zimbabwe in 1989 after serving articles with Coopers & Lybrand (now Ernst Young) in Harare. Eve has held senior finance positions in organizations spanning power, retail, mobile communications and financial services. She later joined listed conglomerate Star Africa Corporation Limited (formerly ZSR Limited) as Group Finance Director and later as its Group Commercial Director. Eve gained invaluable experience as an Executive Director of the main Board, a director at divisional boards and also at subsidiaries Sugar Industries Botswana Limited, Star Africa International Limited (Mauritius) and ZSR Transport Limited (South Africa). She also sat on the Zimbabwe Sugar Association board. Eve spent a year as Chief Finance Officer of AIM listed African Consolidated Resources Limited before retiring in 2013. Currently she’s serving as non-executive director at Schweppes Zimbabwe Limited, Allied Timbers Limited, First Mutual Properties and Standard Charted Bank Zimbabwe.

Memory Mukondomi

Board Member

Memory is the Director Finance and Administration in the Ministry of Public Service Labour & Social Welfare.  Prior to her current position, she was the Chief Internal Auditor in the Ministry of Industry and International Trade from 2005 to 2011.  She was in the COMESA Audit Committee having worked for the Auditor General from 1990 to 2005. Memory holds an Executive Masters of Business Administration from the National University of Science and Technology and Bachelor of Science (Hons) Accounting and Finance – Chinhoyi University.

Gareth Baines

Board Member

Gareth has experience in the insurance industry and extensive knowledge of life and non-life insurance. Prior to joining the Board, he held executive positions in financial services sector in South Africa, at Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited, AIG South Africa Limited (AIG SA), ABSA Insurance Company, and Nedbank Insurance Limited.  Gareth has served on several South African board committees including AIG SA Pension Fund Trustee Chair, Audit sub-committee of AIG SA, Intermediaries Guarantee Facility Limited, as President Institute of Risk Managers South Africa(IRMSA) and  IRMSA Education & Technical sub-committee chair. He holds a Bachelor of Business Science in the special field of Finance and a Master of Business Administration (University of Cape Town).

William Marere

Group Finance Director

William was appointed to his current position in September 2012. Prior to this appointment, William was Chief Financial Officer – Corporate Finance at Econet Wireless Zimbabwe where he was responsible for corporate and project finance and investor relations. William served his Articles of Clerkship with Ernst & Young. Upon completion he worked for the companies in the financial services, mining and property development industries including Stanbic Bank, TN Financial Services and Zimbabwe Alloys Limited where he gained proficiency and expertise in finance and administration, corporate and project finance.  William holds an Honours Bachelor of Accounting Science Degree from the University of South Africa (UNISA) and is a Chartered Accountant (Zimbabwe).

Douglas Hoto

Group Chief Executive Officer

Douglas is an accomplished business leader and Group Chief Executive Officer of FMHL. He holds a Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Mathematics (University of Zimbabwe), is a qualified Actuary with more than 22 years’ experience. He is a Fellow of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries of the United Kingdom 1999 (FIFA), and is also a Fellow of the Actuarial Society of South Africa (FASSA). Douglas started his actuarial career with Old Mutual in 1990 and worked in both the Harare and Cape Town offices until 1999, when he joined First Mutual Life. He rose through the ranks to become Managing Director of First Mutual Life in 2003 and Chief Executive of First Mutual Limited in 2004. Douglas was instrumental in setting up First Mutual Reinsurance Company (FMRE Property & Casualty), TristarInsurance Company and African Actuarial Consultants from a Division of First Mutual Life Assurance Society. His career has seen him at the helm of Altfin Holdings and First Mutual Limited. In addition, Douglas is involved in community transformation initiatives focusing on education. He works closely with national development organizations and is the past chairman for Zimbabwe National Statistics Agency (ZIMSTATS). He serves on a number of boards and is a past chairman of Actuarial Society of Zimbabwe.

Daphine Tomana

Non-Executive Director

Daphine is a lawyer whose present occupation is Corporate Legal Services Manager for Zimbabwe Newspapers (1980).  Prior to that, she was a Bank Examiner for the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe after starting her career as a legal practitioner in the law firms of Ziumbe and Mtambanengwe and Sawyer and Mkushi. Daphine is a previous Member and Acting Chairperson of the Board of the National Social Security Authority (NSSA) and a previous Member of the NicozDiamond Insurance Limited Board. She currently sits on the Boards of First Mutual Holdings Limited and the Agricultural Development Bank of Zimbabwe (Agribank).  She holds a Bachelor of Law Honours Degree from the University of Zimbabwe.